Tennessee Nonprofits State Tax Overview

- Updated April 21, 2023 - 8.00 AM - Admin, ExpressTaxExempt

Read through this page to explore everything related to the State of Tennessee’s registration and reinstatement process of charity organizations.

To offer a comprehensive understanding, we have listed the filing methods the Tennessee state accepts, details of the form to file, how an organization can extend its filing deadline, the penalty imposed, and other links to important resources.

1. Registration Form SS-4418 and Reinstatement Form SS - 9410 of Nonprofit Corporation for Tennessee

Virginia Nonprofits Registration statement NP-1 Application Instructions

A nonprofit corporation that has planned to start should begin by registering with the Tennessee Secretary of state - Division of business service.

Forms Required: Form SS-4418: Charter Nonprofit Corporation

Filing fee: $100

Filing Method: Online od

Tennessee nonprofit corporation Reinstatement Form SS - 9410

If you are filing an application to renew your registration, apply for a summary of your financial activities, to file a quarterly report or to request for an extension, please login by entering your registration number and password. You will receive a password 30 days before your registration renewal date.

Forms Required: Form SS - 9410 Application for Reinstatement following administrative dissolution / Revocation

Filing fee: $70

Filing method: E-file, Print and Mail, Paper Submission (Emailing to Secretary of State at [email protected]), Walk-In.

Mailing Address

Mailing address:

Department of State
State of Tennessee
6th FL – Snodgrass Tower ATTN:
Corporate Filing,
312 Rosa L. Parks AVE,
Nashville, TN 37243.

2. Nonprofits Annual Reports and Filing Requirements for the State of Tennessee

Tennessee Nonprofit Annual Report Instructions

The annual report must be prepared online and should be mailed to the Tennessee Secretary of State.

Instruction for Submission:

  • Business Entities listed as "active" can submit online if the annual report for the current submission period has not yet been submitted.
  • Annual reports cannot be filed before the submission period.
  • The submission of annual reports can be done from the first day of the last month of record of the fiscal year to the annual report due date.
  • Delinquent annual reports can be submitted within 4 months after the due date.
  • The due date of the annual reports is on or before the first day of the fourth month after the end of the company's fiscal year.
  • There is an additional $20 fee if any changes are made to the Registered Agent and/or Registered Office.
  • Information provided should be updated until the date the annual report is submitted on behalf of the company.

Filing fee: $20 + optional $2.25 online filing fee

Filing method: Online and Postal Mail

Mailing Address

Mailing address:

Department of State
State of Tennessee
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue,
Snodgrass Tower, 6th Floor
Nashville, TN 37243.

Exemption Request Form SS-6042 for the State of Tennessee

You should complete and file the Form SS - 6042 to the Tennessee Department of State. If your organization is exempt from registration because your gross contributions from the public are less than $30,000, you have to complete this form.

For further information see Filing Instructions for Exemption Request.

Organizations that have been granted an exemption status under T.C.A. § 48-101-502 (a)(2) are required to file the Exemption Request every year which will be due six months after the end of the fiscal year.

Forms Required: Form SS - 6042

Filing method: Online

E-File Form 990-N (e-Postcard), 990-EZ, 990, 990-PF, 1120-POL, 8868
with our Software