Arizona Nonprofits State Tax Overview- Updated May 06, 2020 - 8.00 AM - Admin, ExpressTaxExempt
Read through this page to explore everything related to the State of Arizona's registration and reinstatement process of charity organizations.
To offer a comprehensive understanding, we have listed the filing methods the Arizona state accepts, details of the form to file, how an organization can extend its filing deadline, the penalty imposed, and other links to important resources.
Why E-file Form 990 with ExpressTaxExempt?
- Secure & Accurate Filing
- Step by Step Form Preparation
- Auto-generate 990 Schedules
- Retransmit Rejected Return
- Supports Extension Form 8868
- Supports Amended Return
- Copy Data from Previous Return
Table of Contents
1. Registration and Reinstatement of Nonprofit Corporation for Arizona
Registration of nonprofit corporation for Arizona
To register your non-profit corporation, you need to file Form Articles of Incorporation - Nonprofit to the Arizona Corporation commission along with the Cover Sheet. If your corporation satisfies the requirements in the Articles of incorporation, your corporation would be provided tax-exempt status. If you need more information about the requirements, read Articles of incorporation - Instructions C001i
Forms required: Articles of Incorporation - Nonprofit, Cover Sheet
Additional forms to be submitted along with the article of incorporation
- Form CFCVLR: Cover sheet
- Articles of Incorporation
- Form C082: Director attachment, if applicable
- Form C084: Incorporator attachment, if applicable
- Form M002: Statutory Agent Acceptance
- Form C003: Certificate of disclosure if applicable
Filing fee: $40.00 (regular processing). For expedited processing add $35.00 to the original fee.
Filing method: Mail (or) In-person (or) Online
Mailing address:Arizona Corporation Commission
1300 W. Washington St.
Phoenix, Arizona 85007.
In-Person address:Arizona Corporation Commission
1300 W. Washington St. Phoenix,
Reinstatement (Form CF: 0047) of nonprofit corporation for Arizona
If you need to reinstate an Arizona Corporation, file Form CF: 0047 Application for Reinstatement with the Arizona Corporation Commission (ACC) by mail.
Form: Form CF: 0047
Filing Fee: $100
Filing Method: Postal Mail
Mail To:Arizona Corporation Commission
Corporations Division – Corporate Filings Section
1300 W. Washington St.
Phoenix, Arizona 85007-2929
2. Nonprofits Annual Reports and Filing Requirements for the State of Arizona
Nonprofits Annual Report Instructions for Arizona
If your corporation is registered with the Arizona Corporation Commission, whether your corporation is for-profit or nonprofit, domestic or foreign, you need to file an Annual Report and a Certificate of Disclosure with the Arizona Corporation Commission each year on or before the corporation’s due date. See A.R.S. §§ 10-1622 and 10-11622.
Each corporation has its own due date. You can find the due date of your corporation under its record on the website www.ecorp.azcc.gov
If your corporation couldn’t file the annual report and certificate of disclosure on or before the due date, you need to file an annual report extension request on or before the due date.
Forms required: Annual report and Form C003: Certificate of disclosure
Note: All documents must be submitted with the Form CFCVLR: Cover sheet and payment for the annual report.
Filing Fee: $10
- Credit card(Application for In-Person method only)
- Check, Money Order(applicable for both mail and In-Person)
- Cash (Applicable for In-Person method only)
Filing method: Mail or In- Person
Where to mail Annual Report to the State of Arizona
Corporations Division - Annual Reports
1300 W. Washington St. Phoenix, Arizona 85007
When is the due date to file an Annual Report?
Annual report and certificate of disclosure should be filed each year on the corporation anniversary day to Arizona corporation commission.
How to file an Extension for Annual Report?
If the Annual Report Extension Request is approved for your corporation, you will have an additional 6 months in which to submit its Annual Report and Certificate of Disclosure. The 6 months are counted from the original due date.
New due date: You would receive a letter approving the extension of time for that reporting year. The extension is for 6 months, and the new due date will be determined by counting 6 months from the original due date. Remember, the new due date will be effective only for the reporting year for which the extension was granted.