Missouri Nonprofits State Tax Overview- Updated April 30, 2020 - 8.00 AM - Admin, ExpressTaxExempt
Read through this page to explore everything related to the State of Missouri’s registration and reinstatement process of charity organizations.
To offer a comprehensive understanding, we have listed the filing methods the Missouri state accepts, details of the form to file, how an organization can extend its filing deadline, the penalty imposed, and other links to important resources.
Why E-file Form 990 with ExpressTaxExempt?
- Secure & Accurate Filing
- Step by Step Form Preparation
- Auto generate 990 schedules
- Retransmit Rejected Return for Free
- Supports Extension Form 8868
- Supports Amended Return
- Copy Data from Previous Return
Table of Contents
1. Registrations and Reinstatements of Charity Organizations for Missouri
For the state of Missouri, the Attorney General is considered to be the guardian of all nonprofits. Hence, application for registration, reinstatement, and any other purposes has to be submitted to the Attorney General’s office.
Missouri Charitable Organization Initial Registration Statement
According to the state of Missouri’s statute, most charitable organizations wanting to operate in the state of Missouri must register with the Office of the Attorney General before they start soliciting for donations.
Missouri Charitable Organization Registration Reinstatement
For charity organizations whose registration was revoked as a result of failing to submit their annual report within 6 months of the close of the fiscal year must file a reinstatement form with the Missouri Attorney General’s Office. A fee of $50 has to be enclosed.
2. Nonprofits Annual Reports and Filings for the State of Missouri
Charitable Organization Annual Report Form Instructions for Missouri
As per Missouri’s statute, many of these charitable organizations are required to file annual reports. And, on request from the Attorney General’s office, they should be in a position to disclose the amount of solicited money spent on fundraising costs. However, charity organizations classified as religious organizations and educational institutions are exempted from this provision.
Annual Report Filing Fee for the State of Missouri
MO Nonprofits: $15 (paper)
MO Nonprofits: $10 (online)
Annual Report Filing Due for the State of Missouri
Annual Report is due on August 31
Annual Report Late fees or Penalties
A penalty amount of $15 is charged for every 30 days you fail to file an annual report. Still, if your organization is found to be delinquent for more than 90 days its registration will be dissolved or revoked.
Where to Mail Annual Report for the State of Missouri?
Reporting Agency: Missouri Attorney General
Filing method: Postal Mail
Postal Mail Copies to:Missouri Attorney General’s Office
Attention: Registration Specialist
PO Box 899
Jefferson City, MO 65102